Birthday Love

I turned 24 today and I had a great birthday.  I love birthdays and they should be celebrated and you should be allowed to do whatever you want for the day.  I took the day off of work.  Manny and I went to Pelham Bay Park and thanks to the maps in The Field Guide to the Natural World of NYC, we found a nature trail that went along the shore by Orchard Beach.  We saw the following birds:

double crested cormorant:

snowy egret:

great egret:

black-crowned night heron, which was exciting because i’ve never seen one before:

We also saw lots of canadian geese, mallad ducks, mute swans, woodpeckers, robins, and american goldfinches.  After walking around the park all day Manny and I went to my house.  My mom made eggplant parmesan and my sister, brother in law and my two closest friends joined us for dinner.  Everyone told embarrassing stories about me – about how I always fall while trying to rollerblade and how I walk into poles and parking meters while on my cell phone and we all had a good laugh.  My mom bought me the books Grayson and Gift from the Sea which I’ll be able to start reading tomorrow since I’ll be finished with All the Pretty Horses. 

I am really good judge of character.  As soon as I meet a person I can tell whether or not I can be good friends with them.  If I don’t think I’m going to get along with someone, I just don’t talk to them, I don’t bother or waste my time.  Of course, this attitude did not serve me well in high school.  While my peers were busy forming superficial friendships with each other in order to advance their social status, I was sitting in the alone in cafeteria listening to my walkman reading a book because I didn’t get along with most of my classmates and didn’t want to pretend like I did.  It is my judge of character that has kept my social life virtually drama-free and kept me safe from backstabbing friendships most girls go through.  And I have a few solid friends who I love like family.  I’m so glad I saw them today.  Quality over quanitity – always.

One Response to “Birthday Love”

  1. Year In Review - Part 2 « The Book Mill Says:

    […] What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?: I turned 24.  I actually had a great birthday.  I took off from work, when hiking with Manny in Pelham Bay Park, saw some neat birds, my mom […]

Leave a Reply

