A Short History of Nearly Everything

So I have finally finished A Short History of Nearly Everything.  It took me over a month to finish this book, not because it wasn’t good, but because a week and a half ago, I moved out of my parents house into my own apartment in Brooklyn.  I have been wanting to move out for a long time, and of course it happened when I was not even looking for apartments.  It is true what they say that once you stop looking, you find what you need.  Anyway, it was a crazy time.  A saw an apartment and 2 days later I signed a lease and now here I am, all grown up and living by myself.  Aside from going away to college, I have never moved before.  I have learned that moving is stressful and hard and I hope I don’t have to do it often.  I’ve also never lived by myself, without another person or any pets.  I am very aware that I’m the only soul in my apartment and that freaks me out sometimes.  My coworker rescued some newborn kittens outside the prison where she works part time, so she’s raising them and in a few more weeks they will be old enough to be adopted and I might just take one.  So things are crazy and there’s a lot of emotions going through me all at once, but overall I am happy, except for the fact that I miss my dog like crazy.  I think I’ll be happier when I get a kitten.  But only if it doesn’t turn out evil like all the cats I had when I was growing up.

So through all this turmoil I’ve been chugging through Bryson’s book.  It is a really enjoyable read but I’m happy that its finally over.  Bryson is not the most thorough science writer, this book is definitely not supposed to be scholarly or academic, but its really freaking funny and it taught me a lot.  I don’t know what I’m going to read next but it is definitely going to be fiction.  I want to post some of my favorite quotes but I don’t have the internet at my apartment yet.

Speaking of things I don’t have, I don’t have cable.  This would be fine except for the fact that I will be missing my most favorite TV program in the entire world, the Olympics.  I cannot even begin to express how much I love the Olympics and all of the wonderful melodrama that comes with it.  All of those personal stories of triumph and tragedy, the world record breakers, the photo finishes, the upset victories, I am a total sucker for all of it.  But cable TV is expensive in the city, and because there’s only one cable provider in my neighborhood, they are apparently free to jack up the prices as much as they want because we consumers don’t have a choice.  Sounds fair, right?  So because I had buy furniture and food and other necessities, cable won’t be arriving at my house for a few months.  The Olympics start today I’m totally crying on the inside.

One Response to “A Short History of Nearly Everything”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I don’t have cable either. I never have and probably never will. I love Netflix, though!

    Congrats on your new place! I remember when I moved out of my mom’s house. There’s nothing quite like it…

Leave a Reply

