Confession

So my “Never Fail” coffee cake has failed me on the day I needed it most. 

I spent most of the evening after work yesterday wandering around the city in the freezing cold looking for a Christmas present for my mom.  I finally got home around 8:30pm.  I tried to bake the cake, pack all of my cookies and brownies into tins, wash a million dishes, sweep the floor, pack Christmas presents, and my overnight bag for the weekend all at once so I could get to bed at a decent hour.  The result?  The bottom of the cake burned. 

NOTE TO SELF: Do not do more than one thing at a time; and do not stress out.  Because when I stress out I cannot think properly and everything that needs to turn out right turns out wrong.  For example, I did the following stupid things:

  • Burned the bottom of entire cake
  • Dropped a tin of cookies on the kitchen floor and half the cookies broke in little pieces
  • Woke up in the middle of night in a feeling of panic
  • Overslept this morning and didn’t have time to shower
  • Packed presents and cookies in a paper bag, but forgot it was supposed to rain today.  Said bags are now soggy and wet and are about to break apart
  • Slipped on the ice and fell on my butt on the way to the subway this morning

Now let’s balance that out with some positives so I don’t freak out:

  • After I picked myself up from the ice, and the all the presents that flew out of my bag when I fell, I helped an elderly lady cross over the treacherous ice patch
  • My vanilla cookies turned out exceptionally delicious
  • Last night Manny came to my rescue and washed all of my dishes
  • Despite the rain/freezing rain/sleet/whatever nasty-ness is falling from the sky, my hair is actually not that frizzy
  • I finally get to meet all of Manny’s family
  • I get to spend Christmas day at home with my family

That’s better.

Leave a Reply

