Year In Review – 2008

I started this blog one year ago.  I started it because I couldn’t remember what happened in 2007.  I couldn’t remember what I did on my birthday, what I had accomplished at work, or what books I read.  Time was flying by and my life was a blur.  

So now thanks my little blog here, I can look back and remember all the books that I’ve read, what I did while I was reading them and how I felt while reading them.  I can recall all the small moments that make my life enjoyable, and big ones too.  Finally, I get to do those year in review posts, taken from Leslie:

1) Was 2008 a good year for you?
Generally speaking, yes

2) What was your favorite moment of the year?
Moving into my first place and meeting Manny’s family for the first time

3) What was your least favorite moment of the year?
Getting the 4am phone call from Manny when he came home to find his apartment building on fire 

4) Where were you when 2008 began?
At my mom’s house 

5) Who were you with?
My buddies Jenn and Rob

6) Where will you be when 2008 ends?
I was in Manny’s living room, watching the New Year’s Eve countdown in Spanish on Telemundo, eating homemade flan and grapes.  

7) Who will you be with?
Manny and all of his wonderful family

8 ) Did you keep your new years resolution of 2008?
I don’t really make resolutions, I feel like I’m setting myself up for failure

9) Do you have a new year’s resolution for 2009?
Not really resolutions, but I’d like to get accepted into graduate school in NYC, I want to make more of an effort to learn and practice Spanish.  Also, living on my own for the first time is a constant learning process and I want to get better at cooking, cleaning, saving money, home decorating, and being independent.   

10) Did you fall in love in 2008?
Not with anyone new

11) If so with who?
See above.

12) If yes, do they know?
See above

13) What was the stupidest thing you did this year?
I do a lot of stupid little things, like falling on the ice, forgetting stupid shit at work, forgetting to call friends back.  But it was pretty stupid of me to get into some petty drama with a good friend of mine over moving out together.  That sucked.

14) What was your favorite month of 2008?
May

15) How many concerts did you see in 2008?
None.  How sad, I love music

16) Did you have a favorite concert in 2008?
see above 😦 

17) Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2008?
Not really.  I don’t really drink a lot, but I enjoyed a few beers at happy hour

18) Did you do a lot of drugs in 2008?
I’m a regular user of caffeine

19) How many people did you sleep with in 2008?
One!

20) What was the worst lie someone told you in 2008?
I haven’t been lied to

21) Did you treat somebody badly in 2008?
Not that I know of

22) Did somebody treat you badly in 2008?
There was some drama at work with difficult co-workers

23) How much money did you spend in 2008?
More than I have in my entire life

24) What was your proudest moment of 2008?
Getting a promotion at work.  Sitting in my apartment and realizing it was all mine.  I’m proud of myself for not going broke (yet) during the move.  I’m proud of Manny for all the work he does.  I sit in a cubicle working for The Man, but Manny is out there working for the people and saving the world (for example: campaigning for Obama, registering Spanish-speakers to vote, organizing health fairs, opening a Mexican-American community center in New Jersey)  Dude is amazing.

25) If you could go back in time to any moment of 2008 and change something what?
Meh, why bother with regrets?  What happened happened

26) What are your plans for 2009?
Get into grad school.  Not go broke.  Continue to perfect my domestic skills.  Seriously learn Spanish.  Not mess up at work.

Leave a Reply

