Calculus, physics, and summer reading

Two of my summer school classes end this Wednesday, physics and chemistry.  Calculus lasts until August 8th.  I’ve been immersed in these subjects for long I’m starting to have dreams about them.  Yesterday I worked on this one calculus problem from 2pm until 10pm, with a break to make dinner and eat.  I couldn’t get it right.  Then in my dreams last night I solved it.  Today, I sat down to work on it, and in 10 minutes I solved it.  I felt like a genius!  A genius that finds the answers in her dreams, of course.

I put so much energy into physics and calculus because I actually really like these subjects.  It boggles the mind to think of all that you can know and all you can do with physics and calculus.  Physics explains everything, and calculus explains how everything relates to everything else.  Today in physics we talked about these formulas used to find the energy of electric potential that involved some calculus concepts I had just learned, and I swear I could feel everything clicking together in my head and it all made so much sense.  

Since 99% of my brain power is used for studying, I don’t have much left for reading.  I got through the first 100 pages of Robert Sullivan’s new book The Thoreau You Didn’t Know, but it was taking too much effort to get through, so I stopped reading it.  I’m going to pick it back up after classes and work are over.  

So then I read two books that required much less brain power.   First up was Kissing Games of the World by Sandi Kahn Shelton.  This was a sweet novel with really enjoyable characters.  The plot was predictable but had some twists that made it worth reading.  Then I read My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult.  A friend thought the movie sounded interesting so she brought the book, which I then borrowed.  I haven’t seen the movie, but the book was OK.  There are some things in the book that are just completely unrealistic, which bothered me.   There was some cheesy, Lifetime TV – style writing that I could have done without.  But I will say that I liked the ending a lot and thought it made the story come together beautifully.

One Response to “Calculus, physics, and summer reading”

  1. Rob Lenihan Says:

    Physics, chemistry, and calculus–oh my! Three of my worst nightmares from high school. It’s great that you enjoy them. And congratulations on your problem-solving skills.

Leave a Reply

