Summer plans?

So the school that I go to?  It’s kind of a big deal.  Big companies come to my school to recruit students for jobs and internships.  I should be thrilled, right?  People out there want to hire me!  But I’m not.  Big oil companies come here, and big energy companies.  I just got back from a presentation from a big shot consulting firm.  If I worked for one of these companies, my life would be set.  I’d have an amazing salary, bonuses, and all those fancy corporate perks that corporate people get.  But the problem is that I don’t want to work for one of those companies.  I just don’t want to.  The problem is that I’m an idealist.  I am not naive enough to think that I can save the world, but I still would like to try and make a small positive change in the world.  I just can’t see myself working for any of these companies.  Based on the presentations I’ve seen, oil companies are starting to do a lot of interesting research on alternative energy sources, and that’s great, but it is just not for me.

I have to do a summer internship for my degree program, and all my classmates already have interviews lined up with the companies that recruit here, except for me of course.  I’ll have to find an internship on my own.  I’ve done it before, and I can do it again.

One Response to “Summer plans?”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I’m an idealist through and through. The world needs more of us!

Leave a Reply

