Family Stories

My brother is a senior at Boston University and is studying abroad in Dublin, Ireland this semester.  He went over there partially to be able to drink all the time, and partially to research our family history.  He was able to locate some long lost members of our family in the city of Limerick, where my mother’s side of the family is from.  Their last name was Madigan.  My parents are going to Ireland next week to visit my brother and to hopefully meet these family members for the first time.

I don’t know a lot about my family’s past; it is a consequence of growing up in a repressed Irish-Catholic family where lips are kept sealed and secrets go to the grave, especially on my mother’s side.  I hardly know anything about her side of the family.  Also, people in my family tend not to live that long, so there has not been a lot of overlap between the generations, which makes it harder to learn about those who came before me.  So I cherish every thing I learn about my relatives.  I want to be able to pass on what I know about my family to my own children, should I ever have them, so that the stories don’t get lost.

The great storyteller in my family was my paternal grandmother, who passed away two years ago on the day after Thanksgiving.  She was an amazing lady.  I think about her a lot, but especially in November, when I realize that another year has passed since she’s been gone.  She had such a vivid memory and could tell stories about her childhood with incredible details.

I learned so many neat things about my family through her, but I can’t help but wonder about what she did not tell me.  I decided that for some of Nablopomo, I would write out the some of the stories she told me, just to put them out there.  Besides, I love hearing about other people’s families, so I figured someone out there wouldn’t mind hearing about mine.

One Response to “Family Stories”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I’m so glad you’ve decided to do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

