Survival Mode

This post is quick and dirty because I have to get back to studying.  So I have all this work and have no time to eat.  All I’m saying is thank goodness for Trader Joe’s.  Seriously.  I survived off their frozen foods as an undergrad… and it looks like I’ll be doing the same as a grad student.  So I present the following:

Essential TJs Items So You Can Eat Even When You Don’t Have Time To Eat

  1. Indian Fare Carrot, Lentil and Onion soup.  This is a new favorite of mine!  Heat it in the pouch for 90 seconds and you’re good to go.  I just ate this for dinner.
  2. The frozen pizzas.  Oh man, how good are these?  My favorites are the pesto/broccoli/tomato one and the spinach/feta one.  I love making homemade pizza, but I eat these when I’m pressed for time.  Plus they are loaded with delicious veggies.
  3. Frozen Italian-Style Turkey meatballs.  You just defrost them by letting them simmer in tomato sauce while you’re cooking the spaghetti, and 15-20 minutes tops, you have delicious meal of spaghetti and meatballs on the table!
  4. Frozen tamales – the chicken ones.  Great when you have 10 minutes for dinner.  6 minutes in the microwave and you’re done.  I’ve had real homemade tamales before and naturally these don’t compare, but they are pretty darn good.
  5. Chili-lime chicken burgers.  Love these.  Heat them up on a skillet, put them on a toasted hamburger bun and top with salsa (I highly recommend TJ’s Salsa Autentica, it is actually really authentic!)  Yum.  I love having these burgers with TJ’s frozen sweet potato fries on the side.
  6. Those smooth creamy soups in the cartons.  My favorites are the butternut squash, red pepper and tomato, and the creamy vegetable one.  I just got the corn and roasted pepper one, haven’t tried it yet but I think it will be delicious.
  7. For a snack in between classes I usually have an apple or whatever seasonal fruit is available, and a TJ’s granola bar.  All their bars are really good, but I usually prefer the crunchy ones.
  8. And for dessert my two favorite TJ’s cookies: the dark chocolate chip and almond ones and of course, the Joe Joes.  I heard rumors that the candy cane Joe Joes are out already, but I have yet to confirm this is true for my local store.

There’s loads of other good stuff at TJs, like the simmer sauces and what not, but that actually requires cooking and chopping things and stuff.  If you have a favorite quick-fix for dinner, please do share!

2 Responses to “Survival Mode”

  1. Leslie Says:

    I love TJs and just went there today. Here’s what I got:

    7 bags of plain pita chips
    2 containers of pink lemonade
    1 container of mango lemonade

    And I really wanted to get 2398789 things of their frozen chicken tikka masala (I have lived on this stuff for the past few months), but they didn’t have any. Boo.

  2. Peanut Says:

    oh i have to try the chicken tikka masala next time! thanks

Leave a Reply

