Just a thought

I am right in the middle of end-of-semester craziness.  For the past five days or so I have spent 10 to 11 hours a day studying for finals and working on various take-home final exams.  Most nights I am holed up in the medical school library (I’ve discovered that this library is the quietest library on campus) until midnight trying to finish all my work.  And I just wanted to state that I love being in school.  Despite the enormous workload I have, or maybe because of it, I feel so lucky and happy to be here.  I am happy I no longer work at my former place of employment.  No matter how much schoolwork I have and no matter how much I may complain about it, being a student here is better than working 8 hours a day at a job that I hated.  It has been a tough semester, my grades will probably be no better than C’s or B’s; but who cares, it is only my first semester and I will probably do better next semester.   Because with everyday that passes, I become more accustomed to being a student again and I become more confident about the quality of my work and my ability to succeed at this school.  I am happy I made the decision to come here and I am very lucky to be here.  I have been telling this to myself over and over, and as a result I’ve remained (relatively) calm and positive throughout this stressful finals week.

Today, I hand in one take home final (editing now), two final problem sets (finished).  Tomorrow I hand in another take final (finished but needs editing) and take one final.  Another final on Thursday, and another on Monday, and then I hop on a plane Monday night and go home.  And then it is Christmas!  Time is flying.

Leave a Reply

